Living Colour is Back With Chair in the Doorway to Drop September 15

The “Cult of Personality” is back with its first new album in five years. For those who weren’t paying attention to Living Colour (and admittedly I wasn’t after 1993) the band reunited in 2000 after a five-year separation due to the old “creative differences.” In 2003 the band recorded their comeback Collideøscope for the now-defunct Sanctuary Records. On September 15, 2009 the band is releasing the follow-up album called Chair in the Doorway on their new home– Megaforce— a label known primarily for its Heavy Metal catalog which includes Anthrax, Metallica and Ministry as well as non-Metal acts like Warren Haynes and the Meat Puppets.

At the time of Living Colour’s debut 1988 album– the Grammy-winning Vivid– the band was considered very unconventional as most African American music groups in the US were either Hip Hop acts or R&B. In fact, I guess things haven’t changed much, which is ironic considering Rock and Roll’s beginnings. Even with the big steps in heavier rock made by Jimi Hendrix and to a lesser extent maybe bands like Thin Lizzy and Parliament Funkadelic the area of African American Rock Musicians is still pretty sparse. Even following the huge success of Vivid and its smash single “The Cult of Personality” the band was considered more of a curiosity than anything.

Curiosity or not, Living Colour’s success certainly paved the way for rockers like Lenny Kravitz and Rage Against the Machine as well as Body Count.

The band met in Prague in Fall of 2008 and Spring of 2009 to start writing the material that would become Chair in the Doorway.  In a similar fashion to their previous albums, the songs run the gamut of styles ranging from heavy rock to blues and soul. “We feel like this is the best record we’ve made yet and couldn’t be mroe excited to be releasing it on the legendary Megaforce Records,” says guitarist Vernon Reid.

The band will be announcing plans for a world tour with dates to start in September.

Track Listing:

1. Burned Bridges
2. The Chair
3. DecaDance
4. Young Man
5. Method
6. Behind the Sun
7. Bless Those
8. Hard Times
9. Taught Me
10. Out of Mind
11. Not Tomorrow

Living Colour performing “DecaDance” live:

Click Here to visit Living Colour’s MySpace Page

Click Here to visit Living Colour’s Blog

New Tour CD from Calexico – Live in Brussels 2008

In what has been a treat for collectors like myself Calexico has been providing “Tour Only” releases since 1999 on their in-house label Our Soil Our Strength.

Their last tour release was in June, 2007 with Tool Box— a recording of instrumentals with just Joey and John rather than the full band.

This morning on the casadecalexico Yahoo group, Calexico/Giant Sand Archivist, KUAT jockey Jim Blackwood announced that there will be a new Tour CD Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008.  It was recorded in Brussels on October 13th, 2008, and mixed at Wavelab by Craig Schumacher. It will be available during the summer Europe tour and as well.

Here is the tracklisting:

1. Bisbee Blue
2. Roka (w/ Amparo Sanchez)
3. Bend To The Road
4. El Gatillo
5. Two Silver Trees
6. Inspiracion (w/ Amparo Sanchez)
7. Minas de Cobre
8. Man Made Lake
9. Alone Again Or
10. Fractured Air
11. Red Blooms
12. Victor Jara’s Hands
13. Crystal Frontier

14. Crumble [Bonus Track]

Here is the full setlist of that show from The Caliposa Setlist Archive:

01 Bisbee Blue
02 Across The Wire
03 Roka (w/ Amparo Sanchez)
04 Bend To The Road
05 The News About William
06 Writer’s Minor Holiday
07 Black Heart
08 Slowness (w/ Francoiz Breut)
09 Ballad of Cable Hogue (Francoiz Breut)
10 El Gatillo
11 Two Silver Trees
12 Inspiracion (w/ Amparo Sanchez)
13 Minas de Cobre
14 Man Made Lake
15 Alone Again Or
16 Fractured Air
17 Red Blooms
18 Victor Jara’s Hands
19 Les Jeunes Pousses (w/ Francoiz Breut and her band)
20 Guero Canelo (w/ Amparo Sanchez and Francoiz Breut’s band )
21 Crystal Frontier

It is interesting to see what songs they had to cut. All of the songs that had Francoiz Breut and her band in them were edited out.

Still, a nice selection of songs and the Carried to Dust songs have been sounding really good on tour. Amparo Sanchez from Amparanoia reprises her part on “Inspiracion” from Carried to Dust and adding her vocals to “Roka.”

The website doesn’t mention where the bonus track “Crumble” was recorded.

Here are some YouTube videos of the performance– which are gorgeous (what, no DVD release??)

“El Gatillo” from Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008

“Inspiracion” (with Amparo Sanchez) from Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008

“Fractured Air” from Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008

“Red Blooms” from Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008

Click Here to order Ancienne Belgique – Live in Brussels 2008 ($18 US, $21 World)

Streaming Calexico Concert at

Thanks to the folks at the Yahoo Group CasadeCalexico, we bring you a streaming video of Calexico’s concert on 10/15/08 at Paradiso Main Hall in Amsterdam. Calexico plays a nice set that focuses on Carried to Dust but also delivers old standbys like “Across the Wire” and the cover of Love’s “Alone Again, Or.”

Calexico Video at All Songs Considered and Joey Burns Interview

Thanks to the the Yahoo Calexico group, I bring another video clip from Calexico and Quarterstick. This one is from NPR’s All Songs Considered and is bundled with a review by Robin Hilton. The clip has some stripped-down arrangements of “Two Silver Trees,” “Man Made Lake,” and “The News About William” along with some commentary from Convertino and Burns about their hometown Tucson and the role it plays in their music. Apparently, this is the first of a series. So, visit that page for updates. These videos are filmed and edited beautifully, I would love to see these all edited together or possibly turned into a DVD.

NPR: Video: Calexico Previews New Album

NPR: Video: Calexico Part Two

Also, the fine folks at the Aquarium Drunkard blog published an interview with Joey Burns this morning about Carried to Dust complete with a couple of mp3’s to download. Go read it.

Grace Potter and the Nocturnals on “Live From Sun Studio” on

No one can accuse Grace Potter and the Nocturnals for not doing enough to promote themselves. They are touring constantly both as a headliner and as a supporting act for bands like The Black Crowes and frequently Gov’t Mule as well as hitting most of the festivals.

One really cool gig Grace and Co. got was a seven-song set at the Legendary Sun Studio in Memphis which was videotaped and will be posted over time as part of series on called “Sun Studio Sessions.” “Sun Studio Sessions” gives up-and-coming acts an opportunity to record in the birthplace of recorded Rock and Roll.

The inaugural episode of this series was Grace and the Nocturnals performing the Rock and Blues standard “Mystery Train” originally recorded at Sun in 1953 by Junior Parker and later covered by Elvis Presley. So far three songs have been posted from the band, “Mystery Train,” “Outta My Tree,” and “Night Rolls On.” It’s cool to see some of the studio banter as the band works out how they want to perform each song. I’d really love it if there would be a DVD or even an album released with these sessions on it! Or, maybe even a Sun-Labeled EP or set of singles?!?! Sorry, my inner-collector got out for a minute.

So, interspersed between the other artists who have recorded sessions, we’ll get the remaining four songs so stay tuned.

Sun Studio Sessions on

Live From Sun Studio on Blogspot

Just the Grace Potter Posts on Blogspot with links to the episodes as they’re made available